Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Approximately 95% of Bruin Nation – at the bare minimum – wants this man gone…

MY OPINION REGARDING WHO I WOULD LIKE TO SEE BECOME THE NEXT BRUIN COACH

Normally I don’t like to write about UCLA sports, football or otherwise, after the Crosstown Rivalry coverage – at least until I post the football season wrap-up in December or early January.

But this is too significant an issue to let go by as I was looking at a UCLA football fan Twitter (X) post just now,

And at least ninety-five percent of the comments said the same thing…

FIRE CHIP KELLY

Which after seeing their worst performance of the season with Cal beating the Bruins in a convincing fashion, I’m on board with as I am once and for all convinced as Chip is not the man to lead UCLA Football into their new era in the Big Ten Conference.

Two players, wide receivers Kam Brown and Keegan Jones, have already entered the transfer portal with – as much as I hate to say it – probably more to come, including (and I really hate to speculate this!) possibly Dante Moore;

Emphasis on possibly of course; I personally would like him to stay as his problems stemmed from playing like he was this year – a true freshman.

I still see him as the future of the program, and someone who if he works on certain things like getting yards with his legs and other nuances of playing quarterback at the power five level, could be as good as if not better than DTR (Bruins know who I’m talking about).

But that’s not what I wanted to focus on, as the calls for the dismissal of Chip Kelly are getting louder by the hour in Westwood;

I’m surprised that someone hasn’t rented a plane with a trailing message banner saying “UCLA DESERVES BETTER – FIRE CHIP KELLY!” already.

As such,

Should Kelly be indeed relieved of his duties,

I have two men that athletic director Martin Jarmond should immediately call to be the next head coach of the football program at UCLA.

Not only that, in my view these are the only two men that should be considered.

I told my longtime Bruin friend who those two men are the other day, and he liked the idea.

Let’s see if the rest of my fellow members of Bruin Nation feel the same way,

Starting with my absolute number one choice…

  • ERIC BIENIEMY – Current assistant head coach and offensive coordinator of the Washington Commanders.

He has been a coach at the college and pro levels for over twenty years, including at UCLA from 2003-2005 as running backs coach and recruiting coordinator, meaning that he would be a God send in that area as Chip Kelly’s reluctance to recruit hurt the Bruins greatly, plus he has had experience in Westwood.

He had a nine-year career as a player in the NFL, and has won two Super Bowls as the Kansas City Chiefs’ running back coach and offensive coordinator.

He’s a local, having grown up in So Cal as he played his high school football at Bishop Amat High in La Puente.

And…

He has been looking and waiting for an opportunity to be a head coach for a long time, having interviewed for several NFL head coaching positions as I’m surprised that he was never hired.

Bluntly put, Bieniemy would be perfect as the next man in charge.

This other guy would also be excellent on the sidelines; he’s my second choice to be the next UCLA coach, and he’s already on the staff…

  • KEN NORTON, JR. – Current UCLA linebackers coach and Bruin football legend (who I remember quite fondly)

He’s been a coach on the college and pro levels for nearly twenty years, serving as defensive coordinator for the now-Las Vegas Raiders and Seattle Seahawks from 2015-2021.

He has four Super Bowl rings, three as a player and one as a coach.

Like Bieniemy, he’s a local, having played his high school ball at Westchester High before coming to and starring in Westwood, which would greatly benefit recruiting.

His no-nonsense style would be of a great benefit to the players.

And I do not want to hear anything about how he was a USC assistant coach in the mid-to-late 2000s; that is completely irrelevant and not his fault as Karl Dorrell turned him down to be on his staff at UCLA before he went over to Pete Carroll at ‘SC.

If nothing else, if Bieniemy is hired to come to Westwood his first task – if D’Anton Lynn moves on – needs to be to make Norton his defensive coordinator and associate head coach.

If either of these two men are hired, particularly Bieniemy,

That football program of UCLA’s would soon see great times and become both relevant and strong contenders in the Big Ten, along with eventually being regulars in the top ten and – dare I say it,

Contenders for the College Football Playoff.

I truly believe such.

BOTTOM LINE:

If and/or when Chip Kelly is let go, Bieniemy and Norton need to be the only two candidates considered and contacted for the job, with Bieniemy being offered if he shows any interest with the condition that Norton be the defensive coordinator and associate head coach if such comes to pass.

For all those who say that neither of them have any head coaching experience, I have this six word answer:

SO WHAT?! Neither did Terry Donahue.

Both of them want to and are looking for their chance as a head coach.

UCLA needs to give that to one of them; Bieniemy with Norton as defensive coordinator would be absolutely perfect.

The next week to ten days will be telling as to the future of this program;

Stay tuned!

A BRIEF UPDATE:

UCLA has announced that Chip Kelly will remain as the Bruins’ football coach for 2024.

Which I know has upset quite a few Bruin Nation members.

As for me,

All I can do is hope it works out, and that’s what I’m going to do as it looks like that Crosstown Rivalry win over USC saved his job.

For now.

The season may have ended badly, but at least Bruin Nation has this bell painted this color as a silver lining…