Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

UCLA’s offense doing its thing at the Rose Bowl. Photo courtesy of msn.com

GOING THROUGH A GAMUT OF EMOTIONS

Like every other UCLA student, alumnus, booster, and fan,

The level of frustration over Fresno State’s last second win over the Bruins due to – for the seemingly hundredth time – an extremely incompetent defense who couldn’t have stopped the UCLA women’s water polo team on that last drive in particular,

Was pronounced as far as I was concerned.

Especially since that was the third time in their last five contests dating back to last season that Chip Kelly’s team blew a very late lead and lost in the last minute, Fresno State joining USC and Stanford in humiliating the Bruins with their end of game heroics.

And especially since I was telling people that this Fresno State game was bigger than the LSU game because of,

  • The let down factor, as the Bruins have had a long history of letting down and losing their next game after a big win,
  • The fact that Fresno State is a good team that has had the Bruins’ number this century, beating them the past three previous meetings (now four), and,
  • The fact that Fresno State is full of players with a chip on their shoulder because they were shunned by UCLA (and other big name schools like USC) in recruiting, and play both with an extreme attitude and with something to prove.

To put it plainly, I was so upset, frustrated and just plain p****d off after that last Bulldog touchdown,

I found myself, while writing my post game thoughts on this blog’s Twitter and Facebook pages,

Not only venting, but expressing my wrath on that UCLA team at a level that I don’t recall ever reaching before.

Here’s some of the harsh things that I wrote…

“Their pass defense was exposed as a SORRY BUNCH OF **#%@**. AGAIN…You think the rest of the Pac-12 didn’t take notice of what happened tonight and won’t study film of UCLA’s s****y defensive performance tonight? Starting with Stanford, who they’ll face next week?”

“That’s why I’m seeing doom with this FRAUD of a team. And for the 6th straight season, that’s exactly what this Ruin – I mean Bruin – team is, a #FRAUD.”

“And that’s why – even if they end up fulfilling my expectations and winning 7 games + the bowl game, as far as I’m concerned it’s time for UCLA Men’s Basketball, UCLA Women’s Basketball, and particularly UCLA Gymnastics.”

“While this FRAUD of a football team more than deserves a BIG #4sDOWN for what they did tonight!”

Looking back, while I definitely wrote what I was feeling after that loss, essentially venting my extreme frustrations,

Although it’s absolutely true that the rest of the Pac-12 will undoubtedly be looking at the films from this Fresno State failure and act accordingly while implementing their game plans for when they face the Bruins, starting with Stanford this coming Saturday,

After giving it some thought this morning, I realize that I was a bit too harsh in calling this team of my alma mater’s a fraud.

No matter how bad things get, I can never fully 100% renounce UCLA football.

And I definitely won’t switch my fan allegiances to another school’s football team;

Either I root for the Bruins, or I won’t root for any college football team.

UCLA will always be my favorite team in the sport of football, that is my guarantee to my fellow members of the Bruin Nation.

Though I must be brutally honest:

I prefer UCLA’s baseball, softball, and especially gymnastics teams to the Bruin football team right now,

And it’s been that way for the past several years, for a very simple reason…

Those Bruin teams win a lot more, especially softball and gymnastics.

For Chip Kelly’s team to regain its place as my first preference among the athletic programs in Westwood, they need to not only win, they also need to do this one other thing…

  • Stop blowing last minute leads.

What happened at the Rose Bowl vs Fresno State’s Bulldogs must NEVER. EVER. HAPPEN. AGAIN.

PERIOD.

NO IFS, ANDS OR BUTS.

I can’t speak for any other Bruin, but I’m absolutely fed up, sick, and tired of opponents celebrating on UCLA’s turf after a last second winning score.

Anyone who doesn’t agree with that last statement is lying to themselves.

HAVING SAID ALL OF THIS…

I’m still wearing one of my UCLA football t-shirts as I’m typing this.

I still have my UCLA pennant and posters on my bedroom wall.

And I haven’t gotten rid of – donated to Goodwill or the Salvation Army or dumped in the trash – any of my Bruin gear; my many caps, shirts, and particularly my many Bruin jerseys as I sport:

  • Nine UCLA football jerseys
  • Six UCLA baseball jerseys, and
  • Four UCLA basketball jerseys

That has to count for something, doesn’t it?

If the fact that I haven’t ridden myself of my UCLA gear doesn’t show my loyalty for my college alma mater, nothing does.

I only pray that that Bruin pass defense redeems themselves not only against Stanford,

But for the rest of the schedule.

UCLA’s Kazmeir Allen (#19) carrying the ball vs Fresno State. Photo courtesy of bruinsnation.com